Breckenridge Scholar Program

The MoFRW Breckenridge Scholar Program was started in conjunction with the annual MoFRW Legislative Day by the 1992-1995 MoFRW president, Joanne Breckenridge, during her term in office. Joanne was dedicated to involving young women in government. She started the program as a way to introduce junior and senior young ladies to our state government process.

Prior to 2017, one junior or senior young lady was selected as the Breckenridge Scholar from each congressional district, and sponsored by the District. In 2017, through the efforts of the 2016-17 MoFRW President Angela Stiffler, changes were made to the program to allow more young ladies to participate. And now each club may sponsor one young lady to be named a Breckenridge Scholar.

The Girls

The scholars selected are honored at the Capitol on MoFRW Legislative/Joanne Breckenridge Scholar Day, and they will participate in a variety of activities throughout the day. From observing how our state government works as they tour our government buildings to meeting with the elected officials.

Clubs are encouraged to keep in touch with their scholar and invite them to their club and Republican activities throughout the year.

Scholar Guidelines

Guidelines form for the Breckenridge Scholars Eligibility.

Letter from Ruth Pirch, Chair

Attached Letter from Ruth Pirch, Chair